Gluten Free Faves

7 May

Ever since I went gluten-free, I quite a few people who have joined the fray for health reasons such as Celiac Disease, Chron’s Disease, Fibromayalgia, and Autism, to name a few.  However, the question that most people are asking is how to find g-free products that don’t taste like cardboard or like a rotten rice cake.  My good friend M. made the mistake recently when trying to find g-free sandwich bread of buying rice bread.  Dear G-Free friends: rice bread is NOT the way to go when trying to eat delicious.  Which brings me to my Gluten Free Faves list:

 

 

This bread is hands-down the best g-free bread for sandwiches out there.  Udi’s is amazing, all-around.  I love their Cinnamon Raisin Bread, Classic Hamburger BunsCranberry Granola, and Pizza Crusts (all g-free).  You can sometimes find Udi’s at chain grocery stores, often at Whole Foods, but I buy my Udi’s in bulk from their website.  Shipping is not cheap, but is really worth it when you buy in bulk.

 

Domino’s Gluten-Free Pizza (mine: pepperoni & mushroom)

 

This pizza from Domino’s is actually amazing.  I haven’t liked Domino’s pizza in the past, but this is the best g-free pizza I’ve ever had!  It (for now) only comes in a small (enough for two people) and you can customize it with whatever toppings your heart desires.  The crust is thin (think NY-style), but crispy and perfect.  I paid $18, including delivery surcharge and tip, and it was worth every penny.  Read more about Domino’s Gluten-Free Pizza here.

 

Chocolate Cupcake from Gluten-Free Houston

 

I just found out about Gluten Free Houston from a co-worker about two weeks ago.  GF Houston is a local bakery that sells only GF foods such as cupcakes, muffins, pies, cakes (even custom cakes, such as wedding cakes!), dinner rolls, pound cakes, cake balls and more!  If you don’t live in the area, you can order from their website, though shipping can be costly (but worth it for a special occassion).

 

I’ve tried several products from GF Houston that I purchased at my local HEB Grocery (GF Houston has started stocking a few area HEB’s with their products, and luckily, mine is one of them): blueberry muffins (A+), dinner rolls (B), chocolate cupcakes (A+), red velvet cupcakes (A+), and carrot cake muffins (tomorrow’s breakfast, so TBD).  As you can see, it’s all spectacular!  The items in the grocery come frozen (but are NOT a frozen food) because they do not contain preservatives.  I put them in the fridge and them zap them for about 10 seconds in the microwave and they are perfect.  I highly recommend GF Houston as your source for yummy baked goods that taste just as good, if not better in the case of the cupcakes, than non-gluten-free foods.

 

 

I love, love Annie’s Homegrown Gluten-free products, especially their macaroni & cheese!  The kid in me thinks mac & cheese is a food group, and Annie’s is the best g-free macaroni & cheese out there.  I’ve tried other brands (and some of them just taste plain odd, kind of like cheesy rice cakes), but Annie’s is the closest to the standby, Kraft Macaroni & Cheese.  Other Annie’s G-free products I recommend are: Cocoa & Vanilla Bunny Cookies, Fruit Snacks (Summer Strawberry), SnickerDoodle Bunny Cookies, Rice Pasta & Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese, and Rice Pasta Shells & White Cheddar.  Many of their salad dressings, mustards, and BBQ sauces are g-free as well (and tasty!).  Annie’s is widely available at most grocery stores, often in the organic section.  I have found them at Kroger, HEB, and Whole Foods.

 

 

Can you believe that Bisquick is now available gluten-free?  It’s really wonderful.  Jeff sometimes makes us pancakes on the weekends and since going gluten-free, he uses Bisquick g-free mix.  The pancakes are fluffy and perfect and taste wonderful.  You can buy this at any grocery store (we get ours at Kroger).

 

 

I have hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) and sometimes need a quick snack during the day.  I love chicken nuggets and until Tyson comes out with a gluten-free version of their Southern-style nuggets, I will be eating these.  Applegate Naturals nuggets are smaller than regular nuggets, but are really good (they’re also casein free).  I recommend cooking them in the oven as cooking them in the microwaves makes them a bit soggy and I like a slight crunchiness to my nugget.  I bought these ($7) at Kroger and haven’t really checked out other stores to see if they carry them, but I’m sure they can be found elsewhere.  Applegate Naturals also makes an amazing gluten-free breakfast sausage that I have on Saturday mornings with pancakes or with a slice or two of Udi’s raisin bread.

 

And finally. . .

 

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Devil’s Food Cake Mix

 

Hooray for Betty Crocker!  I adore baking (usually from scratch) and when I saw this cake mix in Kroger, I knew I had to try it.  I made the cake for Jeff’s birthday in April and it was so moist, rich, and delicious!  It was as easy to make as a regular boxed cake and didn’t taste any different.  I absolutely recommend this mix, especially if you want to make a quick cake for a birthday (you can even make cupcakes from the mix).  Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Mixes are widely available and reasonably priced.

 

Here’s the cake I made from the mix:

 

Perfect Insta-Cake!

Leave a Reply

