Beauty Spotlight: Eyes Lips Face

24 Jul

With all of of my posts about the release of my second book (The Wishing Tomb) as of late, and as this blog is dedicated to book and baubles, I decided to switch gears for a moment and talk about one of my loves: e.l.f.

 

If you’ve been following me for a while, you know how much I love trying out new product brands.  I’ve tried them all: Mark. and MAC.  Bobbi Brown and LORAC.  Maybelline.  Lancôme and Chanel.  Bath & Body Works.  NYX and NARS.  I have so much product (until recently, when I cleared some out) that I have a three-tiered storage container that one would reserve for storing Christmas ornaments or nails or odds and ends.  My bathroom, while neat and tidy, looks like Sephora.  This is not a lie.

 

However, while there are a few products from each line that I cherish (like Chanel lipsticks, Mark.’s Glowdacious Illuminating Powder, MAC’s  lipglass, and NARS’s Orgasm blush), e.lf. is the cosmetics brand that I return to again and again.  E.l.f., which stands for eyes, lips, face, is super cheap (like $1, $3, and $6 cheap), but don’t let the low price points fool you.  The brand, which is celebrating it’s 8th birthday, has been touted in numerous magazines like Glamour, Cosmopolitan, O, Real Simple, Good Housekeeping, and People.  Most of the products are top-quality and very competitive with higher-end brands like MAC and NARS (and I should know!)

 

In celebration of their 8th birthday, e.l.f. has run a lot of sales recently (they are well-know for their tremendous sales) and I’ve taken advantage of a few (50%, free 100-piece eye color palette, 20%, and the like).

 

My recent e.l.f. haul!

 

I actually have a few more orders coming, but the above haul was (are you ready for this?) $26.55!  For the price of ONE Chanel lipstick, I got the following:

 

Beauty-On-The-Go 3-Palette Storage Case

Eyelash Curler Replacement Pads

Nail polish in Dark Navy

Beauty-On-The-Go Single Palette in Day on the Beach

Eyebrow Kit in Medium

Mineral Powder Brush

Nail block

Beauty-On-The-Go Single Palette in Pretty Picnic

Beauty-On-The-Go Single Palette in Shopping Spree

Smudge Brush

Stipple Brush

Makeup Remover Cleansing Cloths

Mascara Primer

Matte Lip Color in Tea Rose

Zit Zapper (hey, it happens, right?)

Nail polish in Smokin Hot

Daily Brush Cleaner

 

There are a lot of e.l.f. products that I can’t live without (like the Studio High Definition Powder, the Daily Brush cleaner, the Studio Makeup Remover Cleansing Cloths, the Studio powder brush, the Studio complexion brush, the Essential smudge brush, the Studio eyeshadow ‘C’ brush, the Studio eyebrow kit, the Studio large brush holder, the Studio 83 Piece Essential Makeup Collection, and the Studio Flawless Finish Foundation) and this time around, I purchased some new products that I can’t wait to try out!

 

One that I’m already in love with is the e.l.f. Studio Beauty-On-The-Go 3-Palette Storage Case and interchangeable single palettes:

 

 

I purchased three single color palettes (see list above) and I’m very impressed with the pigmentation and variety of colors in each palette.  I also love that both the large palette (which can hold up to three singles) and the small palette (which holds one palette) both have mirrors.  The cases/palettes are easy to pop into a bag or weekender and the cases are hard, so it is unlikely that they will break if tossed around a bit (drop them directly on the floor, and you’re on your own!)  I do wish that they had little travel brushes with them like the larger palettes do, but I have travel brushes, so for me, it’s not (much) of an issue.  The palettes come in 10 shades and are a budget-friendly $3 (yes, $3!) each.  Even though I can afford Stila or LORAC, why spend more when this brand is exactly the same quality and pigmentation and like 90% less?

 

A little note: there are a few products that I don’t recommend buying from e.lf.: Essential Clarifying  Pressed Powder (gets orangey on skin after a while), Essential Tone Correcting Concealer (watery and too sheer to conceal), Studio Shimmer Palette (not good for oily skin),  Essential Eye Makeup Remover Pads (they dry out way too fast in the packaging!), and Studio Makeup Mist & Set (some people swear by this, but it did nothing for me at all).

 

Even though there are som stinkers in the mix, E.l.f. overall is a great brand and each time they have one of their 50% or free shipping or major gift with purchase sales, I stock up.  They add new products all of the time and don’t seem to have the high rate of discontinuing products that some other brands do, so chances are, if you fall in love with a certain lip color or foundation, it’ll be there for the long haul.

 

If you can only buy one product, I highly advise the Studio Flawless Finish Foundation.  It’s the best foundation I’ve ever (ever!) used.  It covers beautifully without caking, it doesn’t clog pores or cause irritation (and I have sensitive skin), and it actually keeps my oily skin shine free for longer than any foundation/product I’ve tried.  For $6 it’s on par with foundations that cost upwards of $40 (like my NARS foundation).  You only need 1-2 pumps (it comes with a pump, which I like) and one 0.8 oz bottle lasts a long time.

 

Have you tried e.lf.?  What are your hits/misses?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

