Recipe Review, May Goals, & A Holy Grail

21 May

Let’s start with the holy grail, shall we?

LUSH Retread, $29.95 for 8.4 oz.

LUSH Retread, $29.95 for 8.4 oz.

I am in LOVE with LUSH’s Retread deep conditioner.  At $29.95 for 8.4 oz., it’s not cheap, but I can honestly say that it’s the best deep conditioner I’ve ever used, hands down.  For the record, I have long, curly hair that is generally fine in texture, but gets gnarly frizzy at the ends.  It is also routinely color processed, which can leave it parched.

Enter Retread.  I purchased a few items from LUSH a few weeks ago and even though I love everything I got (especially the Popcorn Lip Scrub), I am dying over this deep conditioner.  It’s so good, that I don’t have to use any product on my hair for a few days after using at all to style.  You read that right: at all.  And here is the kicker: yesterday, I tried a new hair color (Revlon’s Luminista in shade Golden Brown).  Bad idea.  This hair color from Revlon was the worst hair color in the world.  Not only did the product leave my hair looking like barbed wire, but it turned my roots (and just the roots) orange!  Like pumpkin orange.  Disaster.  Today I touched up the roots with Clariol’s Root Touch-Up in Dark Golden Brown and it was perfect, but rather dry as you’re not supposed to color your hair two days in a row.  I followed the coloring process with LUSH’s Retread and presto!  My hair texture was restored to its normal silky, healthy state.  Retread is available at LUSH stores and online here.  I will always have this on hand from now on.

*

While reading JGIWC’s blog (aka Teddi Ginsberg), I saw this recipe (from the Pioneer Woman, available here) for Simple Sesame Noodles and thought two things: 1) how easy this looked to make and 2) OMG, this looks freaking amazing!  I love Asian dishes (noodles especially) and sesame anything is on my list of top favorite flavors.

Between many things to do, Jeff’s work schedule, and a book I’m having a hard time tearing away from, I thought today would be a perfect day to try this dish.  Here is the method and results (with my modification as noted):

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces, thin spaghetti noodles, cooked and drained
  • 1/4 cup Soy Sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 2 Tablespoons Rice Vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons Pure Sesame Oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon Hot Chili Oil
  • 4 Tablespoons Canola Oil
  • 4 whole Green Onions, Sliced Thin (I omitted this in favor of veg below)
  • Steamed broccoli florets* (my addition)

Preparation Instructions

wisk, wisk, wisk

whisk, whisk, whisk

Whisk all ingredients (except noodles and steamed broccoli) together in a bowl. Taste and adjust ingredients as needed. Pour sauce over warm noodles, broccoli, and toss to coat. Serve warm.

Results

Simple & delish!

Simple & delish!

This was the perfect blend of flavors and was sweeter than I thought.  Jeff loved it (as did I), but added that he wanted a little more spice next time, so I’m going to play around with the hot chili oil a bit to get the perfect blend of flavors.  I really enjoyed this delish dish and it only took me about 10-15 minutes to make, prep time included.  There was enough left over for lunch tomorrow (and I’m trying to ignore it beckoning me from the fridge right now).  I do recommend the broccoli if you want more veg than just the green onions and I’m sure any green veg (such as edamame, pea pods, baby corn, etc.) will do.  I love the simplicity of this dish and can’t wait to experiment with it further!

*

Anyone who knows me know that I am a planner.  I plan nearly everything and write down these plans in calendars, journals, and notepads (and iPads).  I’ve started keeping a monthly goals list to keep me on track through this summer.  I find that if I don’t write it down, it doesn’t exist.  I have so many things I want to do this summer, that I need something to look at and check off to keep me focused.  Here are my May goals:

"You gotta have a goal. Do you have a goal?" --Kit De Luca in Pretty Woman

“You gotta have a goal. Do you have a goal?” –Kit De Luca in Pretty Woman

I saw “Gatsby” a few days ago and enjoyed it.  I though DiCaprio was Gatsby and I liked the cinematography (and of course, Fitzgerald’s plotline).  Is it the best movie ever?  No.  Do I recommend seeing it in the theatre?  Yes due to the “bigness” of the movie in parallel to the Roaring 20s.  You have to see it on the big screen if you love Gatsby.

Vegas, baby!  I’ve never been, but Jeff and I want to go for our anniversary.  We plan to stay in one of the lush resorts.  Vegas recommendations?

And “Wicked!” I can’t wait!

(And the arrival of the new issue of PLR in mid-June.  Be sure to look for it!  Until then, check out the Fall/Winter 2012 issue if you haven’t already).

Leave a Reply

